Annual Awards Dinner: Who Won What & A Reflection On 2019

Saturday 2nd November marked the final celebration; as members, players and family of ‘The Bridge’ gathered together to celebrate a phenomenal year as newly claimed Yorkshire Champions. Aside from the fantastic food and company, plus a unexpected musical performance from none other than Steve Clipston and Amy Fisher – the awards took centre stage at the evening. The winners of each award, presented by Paul Harrand (Chairman, YPLN) are as follows:

Pilmoor League

After remaining unbeaten throughout the season, the Bridge lads stormed to the top of the Pilmoor League with ease.

Pilmoor League Most Improved Player: Alex Eardley

Pilmoor League Player Of The Season: Dave Henstock

Yorkshire Champions Sheriff Hutton Bridge Cricket Club

Dave Henstock collecting his Pilmoor Player of The Year award.

Ben Harrison collecting the Pilmoor Trophy

Alex Eardley collecting the Pilmoor Most Improved Player Award











Second Team

The second team fought hard against the elements in order to maintain their place in the York & District Premier League.

Second Team Fielding Award: Arthur Campion

Barrie Speake Second Team Bowling Award: Nadeem Shefta

Jerry Clough Second Team Batting Award: Jack Hugill

Wes Fallowfield Second Team Player Of The Season: Mike Smith

Mike Smith collecting the 2nd Team Player of The Year Award

Nadeem Shefta collecting the 2nd Team Bowling Award

Jack Hugill collecting the 2nd Team Batting Award










First Team

After dominating throughout the season and topped it off with a second win at Headingley Stadium to win the Yorkshire Premier League.

Brian Shirley First Team Fielding Award: Adam Fisher

Tony Hinder First Team Bowling Award: Karl Carver

The Pickford First Team Batting Award: Eddie Barnes

Nello collecting Karl Carver’s First Team Bowling Award

Amy Fisher collecting Adam Fishers 1st Team Fielding Award

Eddie collecting his 1st Team Batsman Award










Other Awards

Jim Rhodes Shield for Best Performance Of The Season: Matthew Fisher – 90 with the bat and 4 wickets in the Semi Final against Richmonshire CC)

Jim Rhodes Cup for Cricketer Of The Year: Karl Carver – a great bloke to have on and off the field, with 38 wickets at an average of 15 and 395 runs across the league season, averaging 39.5.

John and Ellen Gill Trophy For Special Achievement: Adam Fisher – for his tireless work for many seasons as Captain, which has ultimately led Bridge to become Yorkshire Champions 2019.

Jim Rhodes Trophy for Clubman of The Year: Paul Scaling & Ben Harrison – Paul, for all his work with our club sponsorship. Ben captaining the Pilmoor team to victory. Plus a combined effort with the All Stars programme and  their continued work with the junior teams.

Chris Renshaw Young Player of The Year Trophy: Tommy Hudson – a young player who’s huge potential shone through this season, with multiple stand out match winning performances. This included 74* in a win against Stamford Bridge CC, plus 50* not out at York CC in a close finish where he superbly kept his nerve under pressure.

Yorkshire Premier League North Champions & White Rose Trophy: SHBCC First Team, collected by Russ Robinson.


Sue and Amy Fisher collecting Adam Fishers Special Achievement Award

Matty Fisher collecting his Best Performance Award

Paul Scaling and Ben Harrison collecting their Clubman of The Year Awards











And of course, the award of all awards, Spanner Of The Year was awarded to Dan Clipston after thinking he hit a boundary, turning his back on the game and getting run out!

A great way to end the year, as we end 2019 busy with plans for the upcoming 2020 season and prepare to gain another two senior teams and more juniors.